40,000 square feet
About the County Facility
The McLean County Courthouse, 200 North Main Street, in Bloomington, Illinois, located on the courthouse square, now houses the McLean County Museum of History. It ceased being a courthouse in 1976 when the Law and Justice Center
was opened. It is actually the fourth McLean County Courthouse facility. The Museum began operations in the old Courthouse in October 1991.
Building of the Original County Courthouse
The first McLean County Courthouse was built on this site in 1832 by Asahel Gridley for $339.25 and served as the County's courthouse until 1836. Then the second McLean County Courthouse was built in 1836 and served until 1868. The third McLean County Courthouse was built in 1868 and served as the courthouse from 1868 to 1900. In 1900 a fire destroyed that facility and a replacement courthouse (the present building) was built on the same site and same foundation. It was dedicated in 1904.
About the Museum
This beautiful museum facility offers the citizens of McLean County a unique glimpse back in time to how life was lived from the earliest days when this area was inhabited by the Kickapoo Indian nation. This building is listed on the National Registrar of Historic Places.