Home    Mobile    Apps Download    Privacy Policy    Copyright Notices   Site Map    Accessibility
Go To Search
Find Us On: Twitter Facebook
Click to Home
McLean County:
115 E. Washington St.
Bloomington, IL 61701
Marriage Certificates
Our office keeps on file marriage licenses of people married in McLean County from 1831 on.  For marriage certificates of people not married in McLean County, please contact either the county of marriage or the Illinois Department of Public Health Division of Vital Records at (217) 782-6553 or -6554 (10 am - 3 pm).

Cost:  $15 for the first certified copy, $9 for each additional copy of the same record.  Each time you order, the first copy costs $15.

Who may obtain a certified copy of a marriage or civil union license or application?

Anyone may request a certified copy of the front of a marriage/civil union license.  After 50 years, both front and back of the license may be requested.

Only the bride, groom or partners in a marriage or civil union may request the front and back of the license (within 50 years of the marriage/civil union).

Only the bride, groom or partners in a marriage or civil union may request the application (within 50 years of the marriage/civil union).

After 50 years, anyone may request a copy of the marriage license or civil union application.

Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death, or marriage certificates. The McLean County Clerk's Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital records are not considered public information, neither are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

All requests, whether they are made in person, by mail, or online, must be accompanied by the unexpired Driver's License, State ID or passport of the requestor, or the request will not be fulfilled.  Original ID must be presented in person; by mail or online, provide a copy of the ID. If you do not have any of these forms of identification, contact our office by calling (309) 888-5190 for more options.

I want to obtain my certified copy...      ID        Payment Options

 In Person                                          original  Cash or check made out to McLean County Clerk
 By Mail   copy  Check or money order made out to McLean County Clerk
 Online   e-mail 
 or fax
 copy
 Credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express)

Note:  Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding vital records.

I also need another type of record: Birth Certificate    Death Certificate  Birth of a Deceased Person